Passion.

“Music is not my passion….Worship is”
– Ricardo Sanchez

When I read this quote last night it quickly moved it’s way up to being one of my favorites. I had actually never truly thought about this, but it is the same for me. Before we go any further, let’s look at the definition of passion:

pas·sion
[pash-uhn]
–noun
1. any powerful or compelling emotion or feeling, as love or hate.
2. strong amorous feeling or desire; love; ardor.
6. a strong or extravagant fondness, enthusiasm, or desire for anything: a passion for music.
7. the object of such a fondness or desire: Accuracy became a passion with him.
8. an outburst of strong emotion or feeling: He suddenly broke into a passion of bitter words.
11. ( often initial capital letter ) Theology .
a. the sufferings of Christ on the cross or His sufferings subsequent to the Last Supper.
b. the narrative of Christ’s sufferings as recorded in the Gospels.
a. the sufferings of Christ on the cross or His sufferings subsequent to the Last Supper.
b. the narrative of Christ’s sufferings as recorded in the Gospels.
12. Archaic . the sufferings of a martyr.

As you may have noticed by the numbering, I only kept the ones that best fit this situation (and of course 11 and 12 bring a new perspective on a completely different subject). This one is my favorite for this instance: “strong amorous feeling or desire; love; ardor.” Not only is it my favorite, but I feel as though this begins to tap into how I feel about worship. Now don’t get me wrong, I love music, believe me, but what I do with  my music makes all of the difference.

Leave a Reply

