Fear of Fear and Fearing College Majors

Being afraid of fear is a new thing for me. I mean sure, I have dealt with fear in the past, but I suppose I just accepted it and left it at that. Now though, I am afraid it. As odd as it may be, I think that I am scared of feeling lost — again —  and that I am terrified of feeling like I have made the wrong decisions in life (mainly pertaining to college and relationships).

Good Lord, we all know that I am far from perfect, and I don’t expect perfection, but I also don’t expect me to make major screw-ups in the decision-making process. Things haven’t felt so right and exciting in so long, and I would hate to think that everyone else is right — that my choice of major will get me nowhere. Even worse, I am scared that my choice of major is the wrong one, even though I feel so confident about it.

I guess what you can say is, I would love some giant signs and flashing lights to tell me that I’m making the right decision. Any spares God?

Post Script: things would be much simpler if others could jump on the excitement train with me about my major; I am tired of getting that look every time I tell someone what I want to study. -_-

6 thoughts on “Fear of Fear and Fearing College Majors

  1. I haven’t given you that look. And quite frankly, I think your decision is beyond perfect. With taking the next step, fear will ALWAYS follow. I know for a fact, that you aren’t going to make the wrong decision. Do you really think God would have you wasting part of your life? I don’t think so. He wants the best for you, and if that means majoring in English, then so be it.

  2. Brittany, you can relax just a little bit. You don’t have to pick your major for at least another year. You have all of your general education requirements to meet first. Most students don’t declare their major until the end of their sophomore year. However, it is wonderful that you already have a major in mind. It will give you time to pray and make sure thats absolutely what you should pursue. Personally, I think English would be the perfect major for you. You are a great writer. 🙂

    • Thanks Hollie, it means a lot. Also, I have been trying to settle on a major for the simple fact of working on electives that helps comeplete the requirements. I’m actually not worrying much right now, just a bit nervous. (:

      PS: Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  3. Wow! An English Major can be tough to get or so I heard. I believe you have the talent and the skill. If God says do it, then go for it! Fighting HIM is not the best idea in the world, HE always wins. 🙂 On occasion I find that God won’t give me a sign intentionally. HE wants me to step out on faith. You will know if its not right.

    • Thanks so much! I have also heard that majoring in English is a lot of work, but I am thinking that I can do it. In the mean time, I will most definitely continue to pray and seek wisdom on this matter. (:

Leave a Reply

