A Little Less Brittany

I am learning that I fail as a person. I don’t mean this in a “downer” way, but I (just the person) am terrible. Stick with me.

My natural personality has morphed (yes, I did just use that word) into something so despicable. If I were to walk and live as myself, without God, I just wouldn’t care. This is straight-forward honesty, kids. If I were to completely live in the flesh, I would be even less of a people person. Yikes.

With all of that said, I am learning to listen to the Jesus in me even more. What do I mean by this? I mean that when I don’t want to do something, like show love to people, I have to tell myself “Just think of the Jesus in you.”

I just recently told a friend of mine “The Jesus in me wants me to be nice. Even though I don’t really want to be, that’s what I’m going to do — be nice.” It isn’t that I would be mean otherwise, but I just wouldn’t show as much love.

This may sound comical to some people, but it honestly is a challenge for me. So, here’s to letting “the Jesus in me” be more prominent than the Brittany in me.

Leave a Reply

