We Like People Who Like Us

I do believe it’s time for a rant — an educated, familiarized rant. I have a nauseous feeling in my stomach due to just sitting back and letting things be. What’s the point of a blog if I don’t ruffle a few feathers of thought, every once in a while?

We, as people, like being around those who we can relate to. Even the beings who prefer to be alone, enjoy whatever company they do have, with people who make them feel comfortable. Keep in mind: you can be complete opposites with someone and they can be just like you.

Beliefs, lifestyles, backgrounds, pasts, etc. all form links between people. My personality can be completely opposite of someone else’, but if we have the same beliefs, we are connected in some way. I am comfortable sharing my beliefs with that person because I know that I will get a positive feedback.

In the same way, who we befriend and develop relationships with, often blossom from minor connections. The connection that is driving me insane, is the link of sin. It’s very difficult to see people get along just because they have the common factor of sin.

If a true friend is someone who takes you for who you are, and never challenges you to excel in a positive, Godly manner, then I don’t want a true friend. If friendships cultivate because everyone is comfortable in sin, then what good is being brought into your life? Think about it.

A true friend wants the best for you. A true friend is not comfortable with your sin for the simple fact of making them feel more secure in their own sin; it just doesn’t work that way. Correction: it isn’t suppose to work that way.

So, here is my challenge to you, because I care: be a true friend. And if you are a true friend, then be sure that you have true friends. Are you in relationships that are comfortably in the midst of sin?

…“bad company corrupts good character.” Think carefully about what is right, and stop sinning. For to your shame I say that some of you don’t know God at all.
– 1 Corinthians 15:33-34

Leave a Reply

